Building world class career education and guidance in independent schools

building world class

I’ve been invited to address the HMC conference in St Andrews. I think that it has broken my record for the longest travelling time while in mainland UK – but I’m now here and I had a very interesting evening meeting various people from independent schools.

I’ll be talking about school based careers work in general – drawing on various reports that we’ve done over the years. I’ll also be drawing on some of the specific work that we did in independent schools as part of the Gatsby project. In general the finding of that study was that careers work in independent schools is pretty good and that these schools invest in the area fairly seriously.

It would be good to do a bit more work looking at this in more detail at some point in the future. In particular it would be interesting to look at what drives independent schools to invest in careers work when many state schools don’t.

One thing that I’ve heard on the grapevine recently is that the Independent Schools Inspectorate is prioritising careers work more strongly. I couldn’t find any details about this so I’d be really interested if anyone could point me to the right document.

Anyway this is what I’m going to say.

Building world class career education and guidance in independent schools

Leave a Reply

