We finally really did it … You Maniacs! You blew it up! Ah, damn you! God damn you all to hell!

planet-of-the-apes-end-scene

Early evening coverage of Brexit seemed to suggest that we might be remaining in Europe. But, by the time that I went to sleep the results were starting to come in and it all looked pretty leavey.

This morning it seems to be a done deal. At 6.30 it looked like this and my guess is that Leaves lead might open up a bit more before we’re done.

referendum

I wrote about Brexit the other day. I’m generally a pessimist about politics after years of defeats – but I still found it difficult to believe that we were actually going to throw ourselves over this particular cliff. It seems I was wrong. There will be much more to say about this.

At the moment I just feel

scream

I’ll have more to say over the next few days as I think more about this.

The analysis that has emerged so far seems to  say that it was older, poorer, whiter, Englisher and less educated Britain that voted for this. Why they have done that is not entirely clear to me. For some it seems to be a rebellion against a political system that has failed them. For others it is racism and fear of immigration. To me this seems to be poorly thought out and poorly made protest. The EU is far from perfect but it is difficult to view it as the main thing that is wrong with Britain.

So what happens next. I’d appreciate others thoughts. My initial reaction would be that the following things are likely.

  • A new Prime Minister
  • The collapse of the current Government’s programme as all policy making gets swept aside by Brexit.
  • A short term economic slump.
  • A long term economic decline.
  • A new referendum in Scotland to leave the UK and remain in Europe.
  • The loss of loads of EU funding that has to supported social and cultural programmes in Britain.
  • A lot of gloomy liberal and cosmopolitan people shaking their heads and wondering whether it all went wrong.

Am I being alarmist? Tell me I am.

It is a dark day folks!

6 thoughts on “We finally really did it … You Maniacs! You blew it up! Ah, damn you! God damn you all to hell!

  1. Hi Tristan,

    I voted remain but my heart was really in leaving. I think be not alarmed! we’ll sail through some choppy waters but things will settle down. I know of plenty people who were not poor, white people who voted out.

  2. As I understand it at the moment it seems the vote was decided through the older generation, however shouldn’t there be a proposal to introduce Politics as part of the National Curriculum? If politicians are asking us to vote on serious matters (become regular voting participators) there should be a real push to ensure people are more informed at an earlier age (or inadvertently through their children?!) This could also mean a lowering of the voting age as more young people become informed and demand representation. It just seems to me that people from either side didn’t understand what was meant be leaving or staying the EU without the negative reasoning coming to the front of people’s minds.

    On a side note – apologies for coming in late (exercising my political right!) but it was a great to be part of yesterday’s #digitisemycareer launch! Should be an exciting opportunity to engage young people and their families in digital literacy skills to increase their chances of successful career opportunities! Nice to meet so many like-minded people.

  3. I have not till now given much credence to problems of the generation divide, although I acknowledge that the boomer generation (including me) have lived through more fortunate circumstances than my children’s generation. But now I would add to your list something about older people truly fouling up the life chances of younger generation. I just want to say to them all: it wasn’t me! I’ve canvassed and leafletted, but sadly only in the soft south.
    Universities are also going to be hard hit by loss of collaborative work and funding.
    I started the day angry, but a message from Laura Nota in Padova – my ‘home’ for a year – sent me ‘a European hug’ and reduced me to tears.

  4. I started the day in tears.
    And yes, I did my bit but it wasn’t nearly enough in Kettering.
    My major selfish concern is that when the Polish people go home they will take their supermarkets and grocery stores with them.

  5. Perhaps the queue of old folk at my local polling station should have alerted me to the impending doom, but I was foolishly and totally unprepared for this morning’s shock. The thousands of students and young people around Birmingham University for its Open Day today looked reassuringly bouncy, but it seems inevitable to me that their lives and careers will be compromised by this dreadful act of generational sabotage. How many of them who could used their vote? What would the outcome have been if the 16 and 17 year olds among them had been given the opportunity? I’d like to inject a note of cheery optimism, but try as I may I just can’t find anything even remotely positive to say…
    I’m off to swig some Polish beer.

  6. I am devastated. I am in the north east which has only scrapped through on EU money. I say scrapped through because we still have not recovered from the 80s and EU money and(although we received one of the highest amounts in the UK many people still have little. Look at job sites alone to compare vacancies from North to South. Without that money from the EU I believe we are doomed as a region. Immigration is low yet it seems to have been won on the fear of immigration. Bleak times

Leave a Reply

